Bill Cosby, whom I admire and respect, had this to say:

“Without a gun, I don’t see Mr. Zimmerman approaching Trayvon by himself,” Mr. Cosby explained. “The power-of-the-gun mentality had him unafraid to confront someone. Even police call for backup in similar situations.

“When you carry a gun, you mean to harm somebody, kill somebody,” he said.

So the first sentence gives an idea of the reason guns, and weapons in general, were invented. Zimmerman would not confront Martin… why? Because he was physically inferior? Shorter? Not black? There is a reason why people said “God made man, Sam Colt made them equal.” Bill purports to know that Zimmerman was unafraid, which I doubt. And finally, police call for backup, but don’t sit around and wait for it to get there.

The second paragraph is even more egregious. I’ve carried a gun as a police officer and as a civilian, and I have NEVER meant to harm anyone, nor kill them. I simply demand to be let alone. Period. As a cop, I would have taken action to protect others. As a civilian, I will only protect myself or my family. But there has never been an intent or desire to harm another. Cos could not be more wrong.

